bookspinepoetry.jpg

The Book Spine Poetry Challenge

Last week I saw this idea on Gretchen Miller’s blog, Creativity in Motion, to create a poem from the spines of stacked books. Here is her post: http://gretchenmiller.wordpress.com/2013/04/19/book-spine-poetry-challenge-reflections-on-connection-kindness-resiliency/

I thought to myself, how cool! I’m going to do that. So I added it to the never-ending To-Do list. There are a million things on that list, but today at lunch time I found my mind wandering and my gaze in the direction of the bookshelves. So I created the space to tackle this idea.

Initially I thought this would be easy, but it really wasn’t. And it’s probably against the rules, but I had to add a few words with a sticky note.

Here is my creation:
“Art is a way of knowing, step by step, the Journey of self-discovery. Seeking safety, visual explanations, rituals of healing. Art can Change your life.”

The books I used for the poem:

Art is a Way of Knowing: A guide to self-knowledge and spiritual fulfillment through creativity by Pat B. Allen
Spanish Step by Step by Charles Berlitz
The Journey of Self-Discovery by A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada (founder of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness)
Seeking Safety: A treatment manual for PTSD and substance abuse by Lisa M. Najavits
Visual Explanations: Images and quantities, evidence and narrative by Edward R. Tufte
Rituals of Healing: Using imagery for health and wellness by Jeanne Achterberg, Barbara Dossey and Leslie Kolkmeier
Take a Nap! Change your Life by Sara C. Mednick

This was fun, and challenging! Now it’s your turn!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About arthealsaustin

Licensed Professional Counselor-Art Therapist (LPC-AT) and Art Therapist Registered-Board Certified (ATR-BC) providing Art Psychotherapy services in Texas

One response to “bookspinepoetry.jpg”

  1. Gretchen Miller, MA, ATR-BC says :

    Great book spine poem! It really speaks to the power of art therapy….. The inclusion of Art is a Way of Knowing makes me want to do another poem with my copy…. 🙂 TY for sharing this….

Please leave a comment

POSTSTREET: self-expression through the sock

KATARINA THORSEN: CRAFTS. CRAFTIVISM. SOCK ART.

Art Therapy Alliance

Where Art Therapy Meets Social Media

Barnbees

One slightly messed up woman thinking out loud on virtual paper, welcome to my world.

christabrennan

An Art Therapy Cookbook

Positive Art Therapy

Art therapy, positive psychology and mindfullness

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

artevolutions

art lab, creative hub, personal development, conscious evolution, projects & ideas to connect and share

SHE-Q

The Wisdom of the Feminine Principle

6 Degrees of Creativity

creative goodness through art-making, connection, & collaboration